ARR 02
Candytime — Candytime

Candytime is the first album by the modern British jazz quartet of the same name. It presents an unusual collection of modern jazz originals along side new and surprising arrangements of rarities by Miles Davis, Coltrane and Monk. They also perform little known but beautiful jazz standards, a tribute to the piano blues of Jimmy Yancy, a ragtime bass guitar feature and a bizarre treatment of two Irish jigs. Originally released in 2001 this CD has now been re–released through the AR Records label.


1 — Stuff (Miles Davis)
2 — Miles Mode (John Coltrane)
3 — Muffins (Tim Holmes)
4 — When It’s Sleepy Time Down South (Rene/Rene/Muse)
5 — Fun (Miles Davis)
6 — Four In One (Thelonius Monk)
7 — Still (Tim Holmes)
8 — Little Melonae (Jackie Maclean)
9 — Jigs (Trad. Arr. James Woodrow)

James Woodrow – guitars
Tim Holmes – saxophone
Phil Scragg – bass
Chris Baron – drums

Candytime is a modern British jazz quartet, the project of guitarist James Woodrow and saxophonist Tim Holmes, whose members performed with Loose Tubes, London Sinfonietta, John Harle Band, Robert Plant, The Beautiful South, and Gavin Bryars Ensemble. Clever originals and quirky interpretations of unlikely material by Miles, Monk and Coltrane. Creative stuff that's rooted in the great modern jazz tradition but venturing into post–bop, fusion and other territories.

'A sure footed and accomplished band with superb mutual dynamics, passion and cool, magnetic soundscapes, skilled soloing and tight ensemble.'

Joined originally by Phil Scragg on bass and Chris Baron on drums. There have been two releases so far – Candytime, and Candytime 2. Both are now available through AR Records.

→   Listen to Candytime on Soundcloud

Album available as CD